Sacred Heart Chaplet Beads

How to Create the Chaplet

The Chaplet of the Sacred Heart of Jesus is composed of 33 beads, divided into three opening beads and 5 groups of six beads. Each group is separated by a single, often larger bead, and is made using a Sacred Heart rosary center and regular crucifix of your choice. The only extra element might be the addition of a Sacred Heart medal (as shown).

  • Begin by reciting the Anima Christi on the crucifix. Two versions are listed below:

Soul of Christ, sanctify me.
Body of Christ, save me.
Blood of Christ, inebriate me.
Water from the side of Christ, wash me.
Passion of Christ, strengthen me,
O good Jesus, hear me,
Within Thy wounds hide me,
Separated from Thee let me never be,
From the malicious enemy defend me,
In the hour of my death call me
and bid me come unto Thee
That I may praise Thee
with Thy saints Forever and ever. Amen.

A more poetic rhyme:

Soul of Christ, be my sanctification.
Body of Christ, be my salvation.
Blood of Christ, fill all my veins.
Water from Christ’s side, wash out my stains.
Passion of Christ, my comfort be.
O good Jesus, listen to me.
In Thy wounds I fain would hide.
Ne’er to be parted from Thy side.
Guard me should the foe assail me.
Call me when my life shall fail me.
Bid me come to Thee above.
With Thy saints to sing Thy love.
World without end. Amen.

  • On each “large” bead, recite:
    “Jesus, meek and humble of Heart, make my heart like unto Thine.”
  • On each “small” bead group, recite:
    “Sweet Heart of Jesus, be Thou my love!”
  • After each “small” bead group of six, recite:
    “Sweet Heart of Mary, be my salvation!”
  • At the conclusion of the Chaplet, recite:
    “O Most Sacred Heart of Jesus, have mercy on us. O Immaculate Heart of Mary, pray for us. May the Sacred Heart of Jesus be praised, glorified, loved and preserved throughout the world now and forever more. Amen.”

Carmelite Meditations for the Chaplet

  1. Christ’s Entry into Jerusalem: Our Savior, meek and humble of Heart and born on an ass, entered triumphantly into the City of David as His people sang Hosanna in Excelsis.
  2. Agony in the Garden: Christ began His suffering for us, to the point of sweating His Blood, out of love for sinful and disobedient humanity. There He asked His disciples to remain, pray and keep vigil with Him.
  3. Road to Emmaus: Christ accompanied his disciples and interpreted the Scripture for them. Their hearts burned within them, and He revealed Himself in the breaking of the bread.
  4. The Blessed Sacrament: Given to humanity in the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass upon all the altars of the world, He remains reposed in the tabernacle, and exposed for Eucharistic Adoration, where He is present – Body, Blood, Soul & Divinity.
  5. In His Sacred Heart: Given to St. Margaret Mary, His Heart represents the Hypostatic Union with our nature, the interior life of His soul, and His affection and burning love for each of us, desiring a fervent love for Him in the Blessed Sacrament.